© 2019 Department of Minnesota VFW

2020 Patriot Pen winner announced

Thea Bothun Patriot's Pen Department Winner

During the 2020 Department of Minnesota Veterans of Foreign Wars Midwinter conference banquet, this year's Patriot Pen winner was announced. Thea Bothun 8th grader at Schaeffer Scool, sponsored by Witlock-Sonnenberg VFW Post #1215 and Auxiliary, Rochester, MN.

The Patriot's Pen Program is conducted nationwide. This VFW sponsored youth essays expressing their views on Democracy with the prospect of winning U.S Savings Bonds. More than 100,000 students participated last year in this contest.

Thea Bothum, being presented with her award by National Rep Lynn Rolf III, Department Commander Chad Sholeid, Program Chairman Don Nix, Auxiliary President Frankie Bill, and National Auxiliary Ambassador Jane Ziebarth

Nationally, the top 46 national winners all receive $5,000 and an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C. for the winner and a parent or guardian.

In the State of Minnesota, the State Winner receives $300, a Plaque and a trip to the State Midwinter Conference.